Screen shot 2013-12-30 at 10.05.30 AM

Restaurant Review: Gluten Free Menu at Bonefish Grill Burlington, MA

Screen shot 2013-12-30 at 10.15.08 AMBonefish Grill opened it’s first Massachusetts location in Burlington on November 11, 2013. This Florida-based chain features a variety of seafood items, including shrimp tacos, fish burgers, Chilean sea Bass, grilled rainbow trout, and grouper, and the menu also has non-seafood items such as chicken and steak. Bonefish Grill offers guests unique fresh fish from all over the globe that is hand picked, inspected, and cut daily, and then wood grilled to perfection.

Fueled by their mutual passion for fish and adventure, Bonefish Grill’s founders set out to create a unique dining experience- one that would take the mystery out of fish for people who didn’t eat it very often, and yet provide further mystery for the truly adventurous.

Bonefish Grill has a gluten free menu that features everything from gluten free beer and martini’s, to appetizers and fresh wood-grilled specialties, and even decadent desserts. There are plenty of menu options to please all tastes.Screen shot 2013-12-30 at 10.05.30 AM

Bonefish Grill has procedures in place to avoid cross contamination. The manager Jenny –who is extremely friendly and nice—explained to use how Bonefish handles gluten and other allergies. Once a gluten free meal is entered in the system the chef announces it to the line. Gloves are changed, pots are scrubbed clean, and utensils are swapped out for new ones. The dedicated gluten free section of the grill—there is also a section used for shellfish allergies, vegans, and other allergens— is scrubbed clean before each order is made.

My mom and I shared the Bonefish House Salad, which they split for us onto two plates. The salad sounded better than it actually was; hearts of palm, Kalamata olives, and tomatoes with a citrus herb dressing. It was a bit bland and we wish there had been more hearts of palms and olives.IMG_5845

For an appetizer we shared the Saucy Shrimp made with a lime tomato garlic sauce, Kalamata olives, and Feta cheese. This was over the top. It was superb. It was to die for. I can’t say enough good things about this dish. The sauce was slightly sweet and tangy at the same time, and had an overall amazing flavor. And the portion size was huge!IMG_5848

For dinner I ordered the Rainbow Trout served with steamed broccoli and spaghetti squash topped with brown sugar. The trout was fresh and easy to it; it just fell off the bones.IMG_5849

My mom ordered the Chilean Sea Bass with herbed jasmine rice. The thick piece of fish was buttery and also extremely fresh. I like that fish doesn’t leave you feeling stuffed, rather we were both pleasantly satisfied with the size of our meals.IMG_5853

Three of Bonefish Grill’s signature sauces are gluten free—mango salsa, chimichurri, and lemon butter. We LOVED the mango salsa and chimichurri. Although the lemon butter was ok, it didn’t stand a chance next to the other two sauces.IMG_5854

The mango salsa was full of ripe mango had a nice kick to. The chimichurri was incredibly fresh and flavorful. Both were delicious and perfectly complemented the fish.

Although we were full we could not resist dessert. Our waitress recommended the flourless chocolate Macadamia Nut Brownie served over a raspberry sauce and vanilla ice cream with whipped cream. The brownie was rich but surprisingly lighter than less dense than the typical flourless chocolate dessert I am usually served.IMG_5857

We both really enjoyed our meals and had a wonderful time at Bonefish. From the pleasant ambience, friendly staff and fresh food, there wasn’t anything to complain about. We were excited to hear that Bonefish is planning to open 5 more restaurants in Massachusetts in the next two years, which is a good thing because my mom can’t stop talking about going back again!

Bonefish Grill has a commitment to quality and excellence at every level. I highly recommend checking out this new restaurant and trying one of the fresh and flavorful fish dishes.

Disclaimer: I received this meal free of charge, with the exception of gratuity, which we happily paid for the great service. I was not paid for my review and all opinions are my own.

View Larger Map

Bonefish Grill on Urbanspoon

Published by

Jessica

I've been on a gluten free diet since January 2009. It's been an adventure, and a challenge at times. I love to go to new restaurants and try new foods, and being gluten free can make eating out difficult at times. But I will not let my dietary restrictions get in my way of finding new restaurants and products. These are my stories of being a young women in a big city, eating out and trying new foods, all while trying to NOT eat gluten. Like I said, it's an adventure and you are welcome to come along... Please note that as I try to eat gluten free 100% of the time, my intolerance is not as severe as others so please use caution when dining at restaurants that are not certified gluten free.

3 thoughts on “Restaurant Review: Gluten Free Menu at Bonefish Grill Burlington, MA

  1. Wow what a great looking GF menu! Thank you for sharing! Going out to dinner is SO difficult for me now because I just rather NOT take my chances and some places who have GF menus leave a lot to be desired! I am looking for some place to go for my birthday dinner in a few weeks and this looks like some place for everyone to enjoy! Thanks!

Comments are closed.