Screen shot 2013-12-03 at 3.56.19 PM

Sun Cups – A gluten free and nut free alternative to peanut butter cups

Have you heard of Sun Cups? Screen shot 2013-12-03 at 4.22.09 PM

I was recently contacted by a representative for Sun Cups to give the product a try, and share the word about them. And I am so happy I said yes!

So what are Sun Cups?

In 2008, a man knocked on the door at Seth Ellis Chocolates with a jar of sunflower butter and a challenge: create a candy cup his peanut-allergic son could eat. The chocolatiers got to work, inspired by the idea of a peanut butter cup for everyone. A jar of sunflower butter, a handful of test batches and a day later, they had cracked the code. Sun Cups were born.IMG_5690

When my Sun Cups arrived it was a test of will power to not sample each of them right away. Sun Cups are nut free and gluten free candy cups, that are similar to a well known brand of peanut butter cups, Reese’s, but much healthier.

Screen shot 2013-12-03 at 4.27.46 PM
Reese’s and Sun Cups Nutritional Information

I haven’t been eating a lot of candy lately, I’m trying to stay away from food additives and refined sugar. But Sun Cups are different. Sun Cups are made with real, high quality organic ingredients.

Screen shot 2013-12-03 at 4.30.12 PM
Dark Chocolate Sun Cups

Screen shot 2013-12-03 at 4.30.00 PM

I was sent all 4 flavors to try – milk chocolate, dark chocolate, mint, and caramel. Another difference from the popular Reese’s is that they come in a variety of flavors, not just one.

The Delightfully Delicious Dark Chocolate Sunflower Butter Cups were my favorite. The sun butter taste, which is very similar to peanut butter, was great. I loved the mouth watering-taste and real creamy center. It is a great peanut-alternative the allergic and gluten intolerant could ever imagine. [Actually, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a nut-free, gluten free cup before.]IMG_5702

The Terrifically Tingly Mint Cups first. Smooth mint on the inside and covered in dark chocolate on the outside.

Ooey-Gooey Goodness Caramel Cups are rich! The caramel was soft and gooey, not hard and chewy, phew! This flavor was so decadent I had to stop at just one.

IMG_5703

Last but not least I tried the Yummy in the Tummy Milk Chocolate Sunflower Butter Cups. If you like dark chocolate go with those, but if you prefer milk chocolate this is the cup for you. I loved the filling, which is the same as the dark chocolate cup.

ALLERGENS: Dairy. Does not contain soy, gluten, peanuts or tree nuts. The facilities are nut- and gluten-free.

The cups are thin, not as thick as Reese’s. I think the amount of filling in each cup was the perfect amount. I really liked the sun butter cups and I intend to buy more when I need to satisfy my sweet tooth. IMG_5701

Sun Cups are sold at major grocery stores including Shaw’s, Stop & Shop, and Whole Foods. To find a location near you, click here. You can also order Sun Cups online.

The holidays are coming up, and these would make great stalking stuffers!

Disclaimer: I received these products for free to sample and review for my blog.  I was not paid for my review and all opinions are my own.

Published by

Jessica

I've been on a gluten free diet since January 2009. It's been an adventure, and a challenge at times. I love to go to new restaurants and try new foods, and being gluten free can make eating out difficult at times. But I will not let my dietary restrictions get in my way of finding new restaurants and products. These are my stories of being a young women in a big city, eating out and trying new foods, all while trying to NOT eat gluten. Like I said, it's an adventure and you are welcome to come along... Please note that as I try to eat gluten free 100% of the time, my intolerance is not as severe as others so please use caution when dining at restaurants that are not certified gluten free.

2 thoughts on “Sun Cups – A gluten free and nut free alternative to peanut butter cups

  1. Thanks for the review! I saw Sun Cups this week at Stop & Shop and seriously debated buying a pack to try, but I was worried I’d be disappointed if I expected a taste similar to Reese’s. Now I’ll pick up a pack!

  2. I’ve been meaning to try these because I always see them when I’m grocery shopping! You’ve convinced me! I ended up ordering a sample pack online. Merry Christmas to me, right? 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *