Skip to content

Are Cheerios Gluten Free

What about gluten free Cheerios? This is a common question asked by many people who follow a gluten free diet. The simple answer to this common question is that Cheerios are not naturally gluten free, but they are produced in a gluten-free facility and can be considered gluten free. For those of you that do not know, the Gluten Free Diet is a weight loss plan that is specifically designed to assist with losing weight.

Yes Cheerios are Gluten Free because they are made with oats. However in the process of making cheerios some ingredients can make cheerios not completely gluten free. Therefore, make sure to see the label before getting Cheerios.  Use only Gluten Free Cheerios.

What Exactly Is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley. It’s what makes dough rise and gives bread its chewy texture. Gluten also is used as a stabilizer in many foods. Gluten-free diets are recommended for people who have celiac disease, as well as others with irritable bowel syndrome or other autoimmune diseases that cause digestive problems.

Types of Cheerios

Cheerios is one of the most popular breakfast cereals in the world. It was first introduced in 1941 by General Mills and has been a staple in many homes ever since. In fact, it is one of the top selling cereal brands in the United States. There are several different types of Cheerios available on the market today:

  • Original Cheerios: This is the original flavor that started it all back in 1941. It’s made with whole grain oats and contains no artificial flavors or colors.
  • Frosted Original Cheerios: These are just like regular Original Cheerios but with a sweet frosting coating on top.
  • Frosted Honey Nut Cheerios: These are made with whole grain oats and have a sweet honey nut coating on top. They also contain real honey, which gives them their unique flavor.
  • Multigrain Cheerioats: These are made up of whole grain oats and have many different kinds of grains mixed into them including wheat, corn, rice, barley and rye as well as flaxseed meal for added nutrition and fiber content.
  • Honey Nut & Multi Grain Cheerios: Both these varieties contain all the same ingredients as the Frosted Honey Nut variety listed above except that they don’t have

Ingredients and Nutrition

Cheerios are made with whole grain oats. The first ingredient in every box of Cheerios is whole grain oats. Whole grain oats provide B vitamins, including thiamin, riboflavin and niacin; iron; zinc; magnesium; and dietary fiber. In addition to being a good source of energy, whole grain oats also help reduce blood cholesterol levels.

  • Whole Grain Oats
  • Sugar
  •  Salt
  •  Malt Extracts (Barley Malt Syrup
  •  Corn Syrup Solids)
  • Calcium Carbonate
  •  Vitamin E (Mixed Tocopherols)
  • Niacinamide (Vitamin B3)
  • Reduced Iron
  •  Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1)
  •  Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Folic Acid (Vitamin B9)
  • Contains 3g total fat per serving.

Nutrition Facts: Serving Size: 1 Cup (30 g) Servings Per Container About 9 Amount Per Serving: Calories 110 Calories from Fat 10 % Daily Value* Total Fat 1g 2% Saturated Fat 0g 0% Trans Fat 0g Cholesterol 0mg 0% Sodium 150mg 6% Total Carbohydrate 23g 8% Dietary Fiber 3g 12% Sugars

Not Gluten Free Ingredients

Cheerios are a popular cereal made by General Mills. They are gluten-free, but not all varieties of Cheerios are. The following varieties of Cheerios are gluten-free:

  • Original Cheerios
  • Multigrain Cheerios
  • Apple Cinnamon Cheerios
  • Honey Nut Cheerios (including Peanut Butter)
  • Frosted Cheerios (All Flavors)

The Basics of Celiac Disease and Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity

Celiac disease is a genetic autoimmune disorder that affects the small intestine and prevents it from absorbing nutrients from food. Celiac disease is an inherited condition that affects about 1% of the population. It occurs when a person’s immune system reacts to gluten and attacks the lining of the small intestine.

 A person with celiac disease may experience diarrhea, bloating, gas and weight loss. In severe cases, the only treatment option may be surgery to remove all or part of the small intestine.

Non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS) is not an allergic reaction to gluten. It’s caused by a similar reaction to gluten as celiac disease but without damage to the small intestine. The symptoms of NCGS are similar to those of celiac disease: abdominal pain and discomfort, diarrhea, constipation and fatigue, among others.

What Are the Symptoms of Gluten Intolerance?

If you have a sensitivity to gluten, it may cause digestive problems and other health issues for you. Gluten intolerance is sometimes mistaken for a wheat allergy, which is an immune reaction to the protein in wheat. A gluten intolerance may be temporary or permanent. The symptoms of gluten intolerance vary from person to person, but they often include:

  • Bloating
  • Nausea
  • Diarrhea
  • Gas and cramping
  • Weight loss

The Health Problems Caused by Eating Gluten When You Have Celiac Disease or Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity

Gluten is a protein that’s found in wheat, rye and barley. Although it’s a key ingredient in many foods, people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity should avoid it. Gluten is the reason why eating gluten-free has become so popular. But not all gluten-free foods are healthy choices, especially if they’re high in added sugars or fat.

The Health Problems Caused by Eating Gluten When You Have Celiac Disease or Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity For people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity, eating gluten can cause intestinal damage, which can lead to long-term health problems.

How Do I Know If I Have Celiac Disease, Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity, or Neither?

If you have celiac disease, you will have a positive blood test for anti-tissue transglutaminase (tTG) antibodies and a biopsy of the small intestine showing damage to the villi. If you have non-celiac gluten sensitivity, there is no specific test to diagnose it. However, if you have symptoms that improve when you avoid wheat and gluten, then this is a good indication that your symptoms are related to gluten.


Cheerios are not gluten free. This is by no means their intended ingredient list, but the oats used in production contain gluten and could be cross contaminated during packaging. However, there are plenty of varieties of Cheerios that are gluten free, so look for those if you need a breakfast item with no risk of crossing contamination.