Skip to content

Are Frosted Flakes Gluten free

Are Frosted Flakes Gluten Free has a tendency to confuse shoppers. What some consider healthy, others call unhealthy. What some say is fattening, others consider a healthy alternative. Knowing what gluten free means and understanding the facts will help you select the product that matches your needs and lifestyle.

Frosted Flakes are not gluten-free. In Frosted Flakes they use a malt flavoring that contains gluten. Therefore, they are not gluten-free.

What is Frosted Flakes

Frosted Flakes are made with gluten-containing grains like wheat, barley and rye. However, the cereal is processed in a way that renders it gluten-free. The cereal is made from toasted rice and sugar that’s blended with corn syrup solids and rice bran oil. The sugar helps keep the cereal from becoming soggy when milk is added to it. The cereal does not include any preservatives or artificial flavors.

Frosted Flakes made after 2008 are gluten-free

Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes are made with wheat flour, which is a problem for those with celiac disease or who are sensitive to gluten. However, according to the company’s website, if you have a corn allergy, you can find a variety of Kellogg’s products that do not contain corn.

The company also states that all of its products are tested for gluten content before they are packaged and sold in stores. If you have questions about whether your specific food has been tested for gluten or not, it’s best to contact the manufacturer directly.

Let’s see what frosted flakes are made of

Frosted flakes are a breakfast cereal made by Kellogg’s, best known for its sugar-coated corn flakes. The cereal has been on the market since 1952 and was originally made with sugar frosting that would melt in milk. The ingredients in Frosted Flakes include whole grain wheat, sugar and corn syrup. The cereal contains artificial flavoring and coloring, which may contain gluten.

Gluten is a protein found in some grains like wheat, barley and rye that causes health issues for people with celiac disease or other forms of gluten intolerance. Since there is no way to know for certain whether a product contains gluten until it is tested by someone who is sensitive or allergic to it, it’s wise to avoid all products from Kellogg’s until they start labeling their products clearly.

Ingredients of Frosted Flakes

  • Corn
  • Sugar
  • Rice flour
  • Malt flavoring (barley malt)
  •  Salt
  • Hydrogenated vegetable oil (cottonseed and/or soybean)
  •  Toasted wheat flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour)
  •  Dextrose
  • Corn syrup solids
  •  Toasted oat flour (oat groats, wheat bran)
  •  Molasses
  • Calcium carbonate.
  • Natural and artificial flavor
  • BHT for freshness
  •  Niacinamide, reduced iron
  • Riboflavin
  •  Thiamin mononitrate
  •  Folic acid
  • Mono- and diglycerides
  • Ppyridoxine hydrochloride
  •  Vitamin A palmitate
  • Vitamin B12.

Products containing oats can be contaminated with gluten, so check the label

Frosted Flakes is a brand of corn flakes made by Kellogg’s, introduced in 1952. Products containing oats can be contaminated with gluten, so check the label. Some people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity may react to the cross-contamination of oats with wheat and barley during growing or harvesting, storage, transportation and processing.

 For example, some brands of Cheerios contain gluten because they’re made on equipment shared with other cereals. If you’re sensitive to gluten, look for products that are labeled “gluten-free” or “naturally gluten-free.”

What is the difference between gluten and wheat

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley. It gives dough its elastic texture, helps baked goods rise and keeps them moist. Wheat is the most common source of gluten in the U.S., but many other grains contain gluten as well, including barley, bulgur, farro, kamut, semolina and spelt.

Wheat is a grain that can be eaten in a variety of ways. People often use wheat flour to make bread, pasta and cereal. Wheat flour is used as an ingredient in many other foods and drinks as well, such as pastries, cakes, cookies and pancakes. Wheat products can be found in many processed foods like cereals, crackers and even soups.

It helps dough rise during baking and gives bread its chewy texture. Gluten can also be found in some types of oats but not others, so many people with CD are cautioned against eating oats unless they’re labeled “gluten-free.”


Cereal, the culture of the mid-morning snack, is an American and Canadian tradition. Frosted flakes have been a favorite for generations and is one of many cereals that can be found on supermarket shelves. Frosted Flakes are made from corn meal, wheat flour and sugar. According to General Mills all varieties of Frosted Flakes are gluten free except for Red White & Blue.