Skip to content

Are Marshmallows Gluten Free

While there are plenty of gluten-free junk foods on the shelves, that doesn’t mean you should start treating them as a substitute for your favorite gluten snacks. Marshmallows are typically safe to eat while keeping to a strict gluten-free diet, but with so many other options out there, you might as well make those top your list instead. Marshmallows have gained huge popularity in recent years and are a treat enjoyed by many. As the name suggests, they are not related to either meat or dairy products.

Traditional Marshmallows are gluten free but not all type of Marshmallows are gluten free. It is not ideal to consume marshmallows if you are following gluten free diet.

Marshmallows are gluten free

Marshmallows are a type of confectionery that originated in Europe, but they’re popular in the United States and Canada as well. They’re made from sugar and gelatin, which is derived from beef or pork.

Since marshmallows contain no wheat, barley or rye (the three grains that contain gluten), they’re safe for people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity to eat.

Marshmallow Fluff was originally made with marshmallow crème a sort of gooey substance made from egg whites and sugar but after World War II, when sugar was scarce and expensive, Kraft changed the recipe so it used corn syrup instead of sugar.

That’s why you see some recipes calling for corn syrup instead of sugar they’re trying to duplicate the original recipe. But even though Fluff is made with corn syrup instead of sugar now, it’s still considered gluten-free for people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity because there’s no wheat, barley or rye in it.

Marshmallows are free of the few forms of gluten that most people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity react to

The only ingredient in marshmallows that has even a slight chance of containing gluten is gelatin. Gelatin is made from animal bones and skin, and it’s possible that some brands may include wheat-derived ingredients in their gelatin production process. Most brands of gelatin are gluten free, but you’ll want to read the label carefully before buying any product containing gelatin.

Marshmallows also contain corn syrup and sugar, so if you’re avoiding corn and/or sugar for other reasons, it makes sense to avoid marshmallows as well (or at least limit your consumption).

The mucus produced by marshmallows can sooth a sore throat

  • Marshmallows are made from gelatin, which is made from the boiled bones, skin and tendons of animals. Gelatin is also used in some medications and cosmetics.
  • If you have celiac disease or a sensitivity to gluten, you should avoid marshmallows. They’re not considered safe on a gluten-free diet.
  • If you have an intolerance to casein (a protein found in milk), you should also completely avoid marshmallows because they’re made with gelatin that contains dairy products.
  • If you don’t have any food allergies or intolerances, but are still concerned about whether marshmallows are gluten free, remember that allergen labeling laws require food manufacturers to disclose ingredients that contain wheat on the product label.

Do not consume marshmallows if you are allergic to gelatin

Marshmallows are a delicious treat that can be enjoyed by everyone. That being said, there are some people who have to avoid marshmallows due to allergies or other health concerns. If you are looking for a gluten-free alternative to marshmallows, you might want to consider rice krispies cereal.

Marshmallow Allergies

If you have been diagnosed with an allergy to gelatin, then you should definitely not eat marshmallows. Gelatin is often used in marshmallow recipes as it helps them hold their shape and texture. The most common allergen in gelatin is pork protein, but there are other animal byproducts that may cause an allergic reaction as well. These include beef, chicken, fish and egg whites.

Marshmallows are gluten free, but may provoke other allergies

In fact, marshmallows were created by the French in the 17th century and made from the root of the marshmallow plant.

Marshmallows are made from gelatin, which is derived from the collagen in animal skin and bones. Gelatin is considered a protein and contains no gluten. Other ingredients used to make marshmallows include egg whites, corn syrup and sugar.

Because marshmallows are made with gelatin, they may also contain traces of other allergens like nuts or dairy products. If you have an allergy to one of these foods, avoid eating marshmallows unless you can confirm that they don’t contain any traces of them.


If you want to be totally safe, you should steer clear of marshmallows altogether. However, if you don’t react negatively to them, and skipping them never seems to bother you, there’s a chance that they might be safe for you to eat. Just check that all ingredients are gluten-free before eating them, as not every manufacturer will be upfront about possible gluten cross-contamination.