Skip to content

Are McDonald’s Fries Gluten Free

McDonald’s French fries are the most popular menu item in the world. People love them because they’re crispy, creamy and salty. They come in an easy-to-eat container no matter where you are. So how come the fries that melt in your mouth can’t be made gluten-free? This is what Rachael Yamagata wants to know. If you’re like me and assume McDonald’s french fries have no gluten, it came as a surprise.

McDonalds Clearly Mentioned Gluten Free Products in Their Menu but It is not Safe to Say McDonalds Fries are Gluten Free. As There is possibility of fries being cooked with the oil that can contain gluten. However Fries are generally Gluten Free.  

McDonald’s french fries

McDonald’s fries, like all of its other menu items, are made with a mixture of vegetable oil and soybean oil. The company does not list the amount of each ingredient in its french fries, but it is safe to assume that they are cooked in vegetable oil.

The company also doesn’t list any additional ingredients on its website. However, if you have an allergy or sensitivity to soybean oil, you should avoid McDonald’s french fries.

McDonald’s makes sure that its french fries are cooked in a specific temperature range to ensure that they don’t absorb any flavors from other foods being cooked at the same time. This ensures customers can enjoy their fries while they’re hot and crispy.

The fries are not gluten free

The company announced in March 2016 that it would begin offering a gluten-free bun to customers who have celiac disease or an intolerance to gluten. The bun is made with wheat and barley, so it’s not technically gluten-free, but it is made without the allergenic wheat protein called gliadin.

The new buns are available at all US locations that serve hamburgers, cheeseburgers and Quarter Pounders with Cheese. They come in packs of four for $1.99 (USD).

If you have celiac disease

McDonald’s fries are not gluten-free. They contain wheat in the form of dextrose, and they’re fried in the same oil as other fried products.

If you have celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity, you should avoid them. The same goes for McDonald’s hash browns, which also contain wheat. If you’re not sure whether your child can eat these foods or not, it’s best to ask their doctor or dietitian before letting them try them out at home.

Not all fries at McDonald’s are gluten free

Chain does not have a list of which ones are.  But you can order the following menu items without worry:

  • Baked potato
  • Hash browns (without seasoning)
  • French fries
  • Apple slices
  • McDonald’s also has a gluten-free hamburger bun, but it is only available in certain markets.

The fries are not safe for people with celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity

The fries are fried in the same oil as other menu items that contain gluten. McDonald’s Canada has a separate fryer for fries made without gluten. However, there is no guarantee that it will always be used.

The same goes for the oil used to cook the fries. It may have been contaminated by other foods prepared in the same oil and cannot be guaranteed to be completely free of gluten. As with any restaurant, it’s best to check with a manager before ordering and asking about the preparation methods used in each item on the menu.

French fries in other countries may be gluten free

McDonald’s French fries are not gluten-free, but some other countries have McDonald’s locations that serve french fries made from potatoes that are certified to be free of gluten.

Even though they are fried in the same oil as other menu items containing gluten, French fries at McDonald’s in the United States are not labeled as containing any gluten ingredients or ingredients derived from wheat.

The reason for this is that the company does not label its food as containing gluten or wheat unless it contains wheat flour in the United States.  However, there is a chance that trace amounts of wheat flour might remain on products such as French fries even after they are prepared and packaged, so they cannot be considered truly “gluten-free.”

McDonald’s has many items that contain gluten

The following products are made with wheat, barley or rye.

  • Buns
  • Hash browns (fried)
  • French fries (fried in the same oil as hash browns)
  • Onion rings
  • Pancakes, waffles and French toast (made with wheat flour)
  • Frozen drinks and shakes (made with malt)
  • McDonald’s hamburgers, cheeseburgers and Big Macs are not made with any of these ingredients, so they are considered gluten-free.


Mcdonald’s french fries are not labeled as gluten free due to the possibility gluten containing ingredients are used during the frying process and therefore cross contamination could occur. At this time there is no way of knowing if the fries are made with gluten containing ingredients before or after they are cooked. Therefore it cannot be said that these fries are completely gluten free.