Skip to content

Are Oreos Gluten Free

Are Oreos Gluten Free? If you’ve ever eaten an Oreo, then you know that they are considered to be one of the best cookie brands. It’s not just Americans who eat Oreos, but people all over the world.

Regular Oreos are not Gluten free. However, now Oreo is making gluten free cookies, which you can enjoy and tame down your taste buds.

The traditional Oreo cookie is actually gluten free

The cookies do not contain any wheat, rye or barley. There are some Oreo products that are not gluten free, however. Oreos have been around since 1912 when they were created by Nabisco and introduced to the market as “Oreo Biscuits.” The name was changed to “Oreo Sandwich” in 1952 before Nabisco sold the rights to Kraft Foods in 1998.

  • There are two types of Oreos: the traditional cookie with two chocolate wafers and one vanilla cream filling and an Oreo Double Stuf with two layers of chocolate wafers and two layers of vanilla cream filling. Both versions contain no gluten ingredients, according to Kraft Foods’ website.

Anecdotal evidence says some Oreo cookies contain gluten

The ingredient list on a box of Oreos shows wheat flour, which is a common ingredient in cookies. However, because the product is so popular and widely available, it’s possible to find a few gluten-free options at your local grocery store or online. If you can’t find a box of gluten-free Oreos, try making your own.

Oreos are made with wheat flour and water as their main ingredients. They also have sugar, corn syrup solids, high fructose corn syrup, sodium caseinate (a milk derivative), soy lecithin, partially hydrogenated vegetable oil, molasses and cornstarch added to them before baking. These ingredients give them their signature texture and flavor when you bite into one.

If you can find a box with the gluten free sticker, then the cookies inside are gluten free

The Oreo cookie is one of the most popular cookies in America. It’s also one of the most confusing, because it seems like everyone has a different opinion on whether or not they’re gluten-free. Oreos are made by Nabisco, which owns many brands of cookies.

If you can find a box with the gluten free sticker, then the cookies inside are gluten free as well. The label on this box says “Gluten Free” right on it: But if you don’t see that sticker, then you’ll need to check the ingredients list for any signs of wheat flour or other sources of gluten (like barley malt extract).

Why Aren’t Oreos Naturally Gluten-Free

The original Oreo cookie is not gluten-free. It is made with wheat flour, which contains gluten. So what’s the deal? Why would Nabisco make an iconic product that’s not gluten-free? There are two main reasons why this is the case: Many people cannot eat gluten because they have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Celiac disease is an autoimmune condition where eating gluten damages the small intestine and prevents absorption of nutrients. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity causes similar symptoms as celiac disease, but it is not an autoimmune condition.

People with celiac disease must avoid all foods containing wheat, rye and barley (including all baked goods). Some people who don’t have celiac disease still need to avoid these grains to prevent their bodies from reacting negatively to them. If you’re one of these people, then you probably know all about it.

How Do I Know if My Oreo Cookies Contain Gluten?

There are a number of ways to know if your Oreo cookies contain gluten.

  • The main way that you can tell if your Oreos contain gluten is by looking at the ingredients list on the package. If they list wheat as an ingredient, then they do not contain gluten-free ingredients.
  • Another way to tell is by reading the side of the package where it tells you if the product is made in a facility that also processes wheat products. If it does, then there is a good chance that these cookies contain gluten.
  • There are many other types of cookies that are considered gluten-free including some varieties of Chips Ahoy! cookies which include chocolate chip and golden vanilla chip flavors as well as many other brands like Nature Valley and Pepperidge Farm.

Different types of Oreo cookie

Oreos are a classic cookie sandwich with a sweet crème filling in between two chocolate wafers. With many different varieties and flavors, Oreos are one of the most popular cookies on the market today. There are even some gluten-free Oreo options available for those with dietary restrictions.

Because these ingredients contain gluten, they aren’t considered gluten-free by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) or by the Celiac Disease Foundation (CDF). However, there are several types of Oreos that do not contain wheat flour or other gluten-containing ingredients and may be safe for people with celiac disease to eat.

The most common type of Oreo cookies sold in stores is Double Stuf Oreos as the name suggests, this variety has double the amount of filling compared to regular Oreos. Mega Stuf Oreos have an even bigger amount of filling than Double Stufs do, but they’re less common than the original variety.


So yes, Special Oreos are gluten free, but not all gluten free items are safe to eat. Just like conventional foods, it is important to read the package labels of a food item before you decide it is safe for you to eat. If a product does not have a gluten free label on it, don’t assume that the product is safe to eat. The only way to know for sure if something contains gluten is to do some research, talk with your doctor or nutritionist, or check with the manufacturer.