Skip to content

Is Corn Gluten Free

Yes, corn is gluten-free. Corn is a grain harvested from the grass family (Poaceae). It belongs to the genus Zea, composed of several species. Generally, corn are short and tall grasses. There are approximately 60 species of corn in the world. Broadly, there are two classifications of corn: dent corn and flint corn.

Corn allergy and corn intolerance are possible

Corn allergy is an allergy to the proteins present in corn. These proteins can cause symptoms that range from mild to severe, including itching around the mouth, hives and trouble breathing. The most common form of corn allergy is called maize protein hypersensitivity.

Corn intolerance refers to a sensitivity to corn syrup. This sensitivity may be due to an enzyme deficiency that makes it difficult for your body to digest certain carbohydrates in corn syrup. If you have this condition, eating foods with high-fructose corn syrup may cause digestive problems such as bloating, diarrhea or nausea.

Corn is in many foods you eat

Here’s how to tell if corn is safe for you:

  • Check the ingredients. If a product contains corn, it will say “corn” or “maize,” or the word “modified” followed by a number , for example, modified cornstarch or modified food starch. These terms refer to different types of corn products, but they’re all gluten-free.
  • Look for other grains in the ingredients list. Corn products are sometimes used as substitutes for wheat or other grains in processed foods, so check the label and make sure there’s no barley, rye or oats in your product.
  • If you want to avoid cross contamination with gluten during processing, look for products marked “certified gluten-free.”

Corn is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity

Corn is a member of the grass family and therefore doesn’t have any gluten in it. Corn allergies are rare, but they do exist. If you have a corn allergy, avoid corn products and speak with your doctor about treatments or medications that can help you manage your symptoms.

Some people who aren’t allergic to corn may still have an intolerance to it. If you have this condition, you may experience stomach pain, gas or diarrhea when you eat corn products. The best way to determine if corn is causing these symptoms is by eliminating it from your diet for several weeks and then reintroducing it one at a time.

When corn is processed into a flour, other grains may be added to it that contain gluten

Corn contains glutenin, one of the two main proteins in gluten. If you’re sensitive to gluten, you’ll need to know what kind of cornmeal you’re eating. If it’s labeled “gluten-free,” it means it’s made from corn and does not contain any other grains that could cause a reaction.

However, some people are also allergic to corn products or have an intolerance for them. If you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS), you’ll need to avoid corn altogether because even small amounts can cause digestive symptoms such as pain, bloating and diarrhea.

You can have corn on a gluten-free diet if it’s processed as whole kernel corn or as popcorn

If you choose to eat corn chips, cornbread or other products made from flour tortillas (which can be made with some type of flour), check the label carefully. Some corn chips contain wheat and might trigger a reaction in your body.

You’ll also want to check the label on any cornbread mix that you buy because many contain wheat flour. If you’re not sure whether a product contains wheat, call the company and ask before buying it.

Corn is one of the earliest domesticated plants

 It’s also one of the most versatile crops, used for everything from animal feed to ethanol production. It’s rich in vitamins and minerals; 100 grams (about 3 1/2 ounces) of corn contains about 400 calories, as well as significant amounts of vitamin B1, B2 and B6; minerals such as magnesium, phosphorus and iron; and dietary fiber.

Read labels

Corn is a grain, and it’s gluten-free. If you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity, you should be able to safely eat corn.

If you’re not sure whether you have a food allergy or intolerance, talk to your doctor about getting tested for allergies and intolerances. Always read labels to be sure your corn products and foods containing corn are safe for you to eat.


For some people, corn will trigger a negative immune response and also cause digestive problems. In other words, it is not gluten-free. The good news is that there are many products on the market that are gluten-free and corn-free, so making a change can be simple and straightforward. Plus, a little diligence in being prepared to implement this dietary shift will go a long way in ensuring success for your new diet.